LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ultrasonic Range Finder - SRF02

Hello,

I'm fairly new with Labview, and I am doing an experiment where I am to control the height of the ball in two cylinder tubes. The balls are forced into the air using two fans down the bottom (I am powering them through labview using PWM signals - no problems here), and I am to measure the height of the ball with the provided SRF02 sensors.

http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/srf02tech.htm

From what I understand they require a 40kHz burst sent to the transmitter pin in order to send out a signal, and then the received signal can be measure on the RX pin. However I don't get anything being received, nor do I have any idea about how to hook it up to labview. I currently have a circuit built on breadboard which is made of two 555 timers to produce my 40kHz burst wave.

I am using an NI 6221 module.

Thankyou in advance for any assistance,

Nick.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,703 Views)

@nicklijic wrote:

From what I understand they require a 40kHz burst sent to the transmitter pin in order to send out a signal, and then the received signal can be measure on the RX pin.

Why do you believe this?

The link you posted says you communicate with the device through a serial port.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,700 Views)

Thankyou for a quick reply,

Yes, serial communication needs to be used, how do I implement this with labview though? Also, does this mean that RS232 connection with the computer is required, or can I somehow do this through the NI 6221 module?

Cheers,

Nick.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,696 Views)

Yes. You need an RS-232 port.  If you don't have that, than you can use a USB-RS-232 convertor.  No you can't use the NI-6221 and I still don't understand why you thought that is what you should use or that you should generate the 40kHz signal.

Look in the example finder for NI-VISA serial communication examples.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(3,694 Views)