LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ultrasonic Anemometer

Hi,

I'm a bachelor student fron The Netherlands and I'm currently working on a project to build an ultrasonic anemometer. It should be able to measure wind speed in one dimension by sending sound pulses back and forth between two points (30KHz transducers) and measuring the lagtime.

I have access to some pretty old NI hardware and I'm not sure if it's actually fast enough to accomplish this, but this is not the problem, as a proof-of-concept would be good enough. 

So, I'm fairly new to LabView and I haven't been able to figure out how to send out a short 30KHz pulse via the analog-out of a DAQ, how to listen for pulses at the receiving end or how to measure the time between these accurately.

Would anyone be able to give me some pointers?

Thanks,

Arjen de Waal 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(6,945 Views)

The trick I knew is to couple sender and receiver. Whenever your receiver detect a puls, send a new one. This is a task for a 555 😉  

(Another often seen setup is a Stratocaster/ Marshall combination ... play me the sound of wind 😉  

Like that you only have to measure the puls repetition frequence. A nice task for the sound card  (round about 30cm distance should give 1kHz) or use a more precise timer...

But also take a look at all that other parameters, that have an influence on the speed of sound... temperature is only one (major) but ....

have fun with you project 

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1

“ground” is a convenient fantasy

'˙˙˙˙uıɐƃɐ lɐıp puɐ °06 ǝuoɥd ɹnoʎ uɹnʇ ǝsɐǝld 'ʎɹɐuıƃɐɯı sı pǝlɐıp ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ɹǝqɯnu ǝɥʇ'

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(6,936 Views)