LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USBTMC Gaussmeter

Hey everybody! Smiley Very Happy

I'm a total LabView newbie, so I've got a feeling that my question is probably answered in about a dozen places.  All help is appreciated, and please feel free to point me to other threads/tutorials/examples.

My company is using LabView 8.2.1 and a coworker has asked me to create a stepper motor that will rotate our device to next to a gaussmeter's probe.  The motor interface we can takle later, as for right now I'm trying to figure out the gaussmeter.  I'll be using a FW Bell 5180 hand held.  It's a USBTMC device, so it's commands are pretty straightforward.  I need to pass it strings and then read it's responses. 

The problem I'm having now is communication.  I know the device can communicate to my PC b/c the software that came with it works (displays current readings on the FW Bell software included with the device), but I cannot seem to get it to show up on NI-MAX.  I've not gone so far as creating my own USB RAW driver as described here:
because, I believe that I don't need to according to section 3.  I guess my specific question is, how do I get my gaussmeter to 1. Show up in NI-MAX and 2. Get my gaussmeter to show up as an option under the VISA resource name dropdown menu on the Front Panel.

I'll try to answer any questions... 

Thanks again!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,500 Views)
It all depends on the software support you can get from the vendor. Do they offer any sort of drivers or port emulators for talking to the things from a programming environment? Sometime you can get software that makes the device look like it's connected to a serial port. Sometimes they have their own DLL that you can call.

I just checked the FW Bell website and according to the 5100 series manual (pages 4-1 and following) talking to this device should be a snap. All you have to do is download the interface software from their website.

Mike...