From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB LUX METER, how do I acquire its ouput?

Hi,

I'm relatively new to LabView and I've had great succes with it so far....up until this point.

I'm designing a test rig that involves measuring the Lux within a test chamber. I intend to use LabView to control the chamber's power supplies and to gather data from a USB Lux Meter that I already own.

The problem is that I am unsure of how to get LabView to recognise and get data from this USB Lux Meter.

I have tried searching the website for drivers for my device but it seems that none exist. My Lux Meter is an LX-1309 and made by ATP Instrumentation Ltd.

Does anyone have experience using USB Lux Meters with LabView? Or dfoes anyone have any general tips on working USB devices with LabView (i.e. should I use the I/O Instrument Asst? Or a DAQ Asst? Or does the solution not involve either of these?)

Any advice at all would be most welcome,

Many thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,388 Views)

Hi aconn,

do you know type or manufacturer of that "USB lux meter"?

Do you have a manual of the meter? Does it state information on data communication?

Do you have any device-specific information?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,377 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thanks for your response. Here's what I know about it: the meter's sampling rate is 1.5 times per second, it model number is Lx-1039 and it's made by ATP Instrumentation Ltd base in the UK. Unfortuantely it has no analog ouput. Here is a link to the product on their own website:

http://www.atp-instrumentation.co.uk/usb-logging-400-000-lux-light-meter-1.html