LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB-8451 SPI interface with analog devices isensor

Does anyone has example VI using USB-8451 with analog devices isensor? I am new to SPI interface and very slowly learning how to use labview in conjunction with USB-8451 to do SPI sensor reading.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm using labview 8.5. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 30
(5,627 Views)
Have you looked at the examples that ship with the 8451 software?
Message Edited by smercurio_fc on 09-24-2009 11:15 PM
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 30
(5,617 Views)

Yes, but none of them is done for a sensor. the example is for a eeprom.

I saw this tutorial, but need the vi also in order to understand/play with it more.

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/9931 

It'll be helpful to see someone with a VI done for data acquisition for one of those isensor from analog devices.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 30
(5,612 Views)
It doesn't really matter whether it's an EEPROM or a sensor - SPI is SPI. You need to look at the datasheet for the sensor to see what its byte sequences are for controlling it or getting data from it. Sometimes datasheets are not so lucid, so if you are having trouble figuring that out, then provide a link to the datasheet (or just attach it in a reply) and someone can help you decipher it.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 30
(5,610 Views)

Ok then, I'll ask my questions on this board instead. 

here is the datasheet

http://www.analog.com/static/imported-files/data_sheets/ADIS16400_16405.pdf

My questions are:

- with the write/read module, is the read array data 8-bit long?

- In order to continually read the data, do i need to create a while loop? or is there a more efficient way?

- In the tutorial linked in my previous post, i don't understand the post-processing from 14bit unsigned to signed subroutine. Can someone help enlighten me?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 30
(5,599 Views)

elpiar wrote:

Ok then, I'll ask my questions on this board instead.