LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB-6259 to capture the current waveforms

Hi all,

I am pretty new to LabView and data aquisition. Sorry to bother you all. I have a question:

"Can I use the USB-6259 DAQ device to capture the current waveform of electrical appliances e.g. electric kettle using current probes????? If yes, could you be very kind to guide me in this regard???"

Thanking in anticipation.

Best regards,

Haroon

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,848 Views)

Yes, you can do that.  You need to do the following:

1. Put a shunt resistor (1ohm, high precision, high wattage) in series with your application.

2. Use one of the Analog input from your DAQ to measure the voltage drop across the shunt, and this will be your current waveform, since the resistor has 1 ohm.

Things to watch out for:

1. Power rating on shunt: make sure your shunt can handle the power.

2. Noise: you may need some filtering circuitry to get rid of the signal noise.  If you are comforable with digital filtering, you can use some of the filtering function in LabVIEW.

3. Level at AI: maybe very low, since there are little drop across the shunt.  If you don't mind a larger voltage drop, you can increase the value of the shunt to increase the level; if you just want to look at the pulse shape.  Or, you can put an amplifying circuit for a little boost before you feel the signal to AI.

Yik

------------------------------------------------------------------

Kudos and Accepted as Solution are welcome!
Message 2 of 10
(2,824 Views)

Are the appliance powered by AC mains (ie 120VAC, etc?). If so I would use some method of isolated measurement.

-AK2DM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"It’s the questions that drive us.”
Message 3 of 10
(2,821 Views)

I agree.  You probably need isolation as well.  It seems like you have to do some signal conditioning.  You can try opto20.  However, I would recommand that you just go get a SCXI or CompactDAQ for your purpose.

Yik