LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

URGENT: Help Altering Existing Examples!

Solved!
Go to solution

To whom it may concern,

I am relatively new to labview so I am sorry if I use the wrong terminology.

Here is all of my equipment:

DAQ USBX-6341 board.

Cameras (plugged into digital p0.0 channel/port)

Force Sensor (plugged into analog channel/port 1)

Test Machine (plugged into COM5)

Currently,I am sending in a trigger to the camera to start taking photos. This trigger takes 2 miliseconds and then the labview program tells the forcesensor and testing machine to start. This creates a delay between the camera, force sensor and testing machine. THis makes it difficult to analyze data.

I want the testing machine, cameras, and force sensor to start taking pictures at the same time. I was told that the best way to do this would be to send in a square wave at my desired sampling rate (ex. 15,000) into the DAQ. This would synchronize everything so that it started capturing data at the same time once a trigger was sent in.

I think that the easiest way to do this would be to alter the existing example:

Multi-Function-Synch AI-AO-Ext Dig Trigger

The description is:

"This example demonstrates how to continuously acquire and generate data at the same time, synchronized with one another, started by an external digital start trigger. "

I am pretty sure that this is what I need.

If I altered the example : "Multi-Function-Synch AI-AO-Ext Dig Trigger",

My trigger source would be the Digital Pulse generator.                Correct?

My AI VOLTAGE would be the force sensor.                Correct?

I would replace the AO VOLTAGE with a DO VOLTAGE for my cameras. Correct?

Then I would need to add in my testing machine, which runs via:             VISA CONFIGURE SERIAL PORT.

How would I synchronize this? Would I simply put it in the same flat sequence structure or ???

Does any of this sound plausible?

Thanks

gcass

0 Kudos