LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

(UPDATED) Running a motor for 5 seconds and switch directions with a button.

Dear friends,

I need to be able to click a button and make a motor run for 5 seconds clockwise then stop, then when I click the button again, it runs for 5 seconds again counter clockwise. It needs to interchange between the two directions with every click. Currently, when I click the button it runs for five seconds clockwise and then after another five seconds it runs again without me clicking the button, it also runs clockwise again. I have linked my work below.

I’m new to LabView so I apologize if my code is sloppy or if I am using the wrong setup or function. Thank you for your help! Have a good day.

Best regards.

Nate

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(931 Views)

Please save for Labview 2018 or earlier. (File -> Save for Previous Version...).

I cannot see your code, but I suppose that you send an angle value to your motor? Or a direction command. You can alternate the direction between each iteration. Either incrementing a counter and doing mod 2 or simply inverting a boolean each time you click the button. Then send + or - angle depending on the value of the boolean (or if iteration mod 2 is 0 or 1).

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(914 Views)

This should be a file for LabVIEW 2018. Thank you for your help.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(854 Views)

Your code isn't clear, maybe add some comments?

You are just sending a boolean. How are you telling to the motor which direction to go? True = clockwise, false = counterclockwise?

Also you have an external switch that you are reading with a DAQ? You should really be more specific in your question if you want to get some help.

Is this what you mean?

Switch Demo.png

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 5
(841 Views)

What do you want to do?

• Run a motor for 5 seconds and then make it stop.

How can you do this?

• Sequentially run the following three commands:
    1. Run the motor.