From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UI with grayed out options until user enters required data

Hello!

I'm relatively new to LabView and I'm trying to create a front panel UI where the user selects from a drop down menu to pick a test to run, then enters specific data to populate the required test data. What I'd like to do is have data fields grayed out until the user enters data in the preceding data field.

I'm sure this is probably much more simple than I'm making it. I appreciate any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(1,523 Views)

Property nodes are what you are looking for. There is a property called disable, and you can change the enabled state of the control.

ETA event structure version as well. 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(1,483 Views)

@adekruif wrote:

Property nodes are what you are looking for. There is a property called disable, and you can change the enabled state of the control.

Adding to this, you can use a value change event on the control that's currently being written to and change the state of the next control inside that event.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(1,474 Views)

@johntrich1971 wrote:

@adekruif wrote:

Adding to this, you can use a value change event on the control that's currently being written to and change the state of the next control inside that event.

The attached event structure does what johntrich1971 suggested.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(1,463 Views)