LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UDP Package Size and Cycle Time

Hallo together,
I am relatively new with the media UDP and so I have some questions:
I have to receive from another system several UDP telegrams and some of them even several times (measured values).
The maximum package size of a UDP I found in the NI Developer Zone is about 64kbit.
If I want to send bigger data amounts they have to be packed in several UDP datagrams.
Because I have to transfer several datagrams, I should know now, what is the Minimum Cycle Time requested to transfer (receive) a certain amount of data.
It seems for me important to restrict the sender to that cycle time to “ensure” or better give LabVIEW the possibility to receive all the data.

Thank you very much for your help in advance
Urs
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,289 Views)
Hi Urs,

UDP does not guarantee the safe arrival of data to the destination. It's good for fast but not reliable applications. Data sent in multiple packets may not arrive at the destination in the order they were sent. Therefore UDP should be used to send short, non-critical messages to one or more destinations.

I don't know if you've already seen this interesting tutorials:
http://zone.ni.com/devzone/conceptd.nsf/webmain/BA7F1D7CE009BE7686256A5B004F335D?opendocument
http://zone.ni.com/devzone/conceptd.nsf/webmain/BB41313D7AB28CBD86256802007B8DC5?opendocument

You cannot use the UDP functions in LabVIEW to configure a buffer. Instead, LabVIEW and the operating system implement the buffer. The attached example shows how to benchmark the size of th
e UDP buffer. Adjust the wait parameter and insert your code as necessary. The VI sends a packet to localhost and reads the packet. As the VI runs, the packet size grows until UDP Read no longer returns the original array, which is written with UDP Write.

The cycle time depends always on your code (the data you're) sending.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Luca
Regards,
Luca