LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Turn off save changes at exit

I use a driver example from an Tektronix scope in a sub vi  and save the sub vi.

Then i exit Labview and it request to "Save Changes? (Exit).

A pop up window appears and tells me that it affects 31 items (tektronix driver).

But I do not want to change the driver becuase i want to keep the original driver.

So i can choose Don't save all. See attached picture.

 

But every time the sub vi is opened and exit the same question appears.

If i choose save then the driver are changed.

 

I use the sub vi on antoher machines (PC's) then also there i need to change the drivers.

This is VERY UNPLEASANT because that takes a lot of time.

 

Also a spoke to other engineers that have the same unpleasant experience.

 

How can i avoid this unwanted driver savings?

Is there an option to turn that off?

 

Kind Regards, Ben Arts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,052 Views)

Hi Ben,

 

well, at first you should read the reason why LabVIEW wants to save all those VIs…

 

I guess those VIs got converted from an older LV version and so LabVIEW will ask you each time for saving because of recompilation. There's nothing you can da to avoid that - beside of saving those VIs.

 

When you do need an "original" version of those driver VIs yopu should keep a ZIP file in your backup folder - or use SVN for version control…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2011SP1 + LV2017 (+LV2020 sometimes) on Win10+cRIO
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(1,046 Views)

I use LabVIEW2011 and i can only choose between LabVIEW2010 and LabVIEW2012 for this driver. So i use the LabVIEW2010 driver.

 

I not understand while NI has choosen for such a way and that there is no option to switch it off.

It is still very unpleasant and not only for me...

 

Kind regards Ben Arts

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(1,028 Views)

Hi Ben,

 

- When you want to use a VI it has to be compiled for the LV version you are using.

- You are able to load VIs from older LV versions, but you need to recompile them, hence to save them after (re)compilation. That's it.

 

Just save them once and LabVIEW will not annoy you (on this one) again!

You don't change those VIs by saving them after recompilation (usually).

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2011SP1 + LV2017 (+LV2020 sometimes) on Win10+cRIO
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 4
(1,026 Views)