LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to use the 'Continuous Serial Write and Read' example

Hi,

I'm new to LabVIEW and using serial ports.

I'm trying to use the example VI in the title. The program I am writing needs to read a com port, so I thought this example would be good as I think it writes to and reads the same com port.

However, when running the example I get 'Error -1073807339 occurred at VISA Read in Continuous Serial Write and Read.vi' with the possible reason being 'VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF0015) Timeout expired before operation completed'. I've been trying to find a solution but I can seem to find one. I've tried writing to the com port using other programs such as MATLAB.

The only thing I can think of is that the com port I am using is only a simulated one as my workstation doesn't actually have one. I need the program I am righting to read a com port because the computer the program will be running on has one. The com port is set up correctly (it appears in task manager and cmd prompt) and LabVIEW does see it though, so I don't think the simulated port is the problem.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Andre

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,517 Views)

Your Post seems to indicate that you are developing a LabVIEW Program on your computer (which has LabVIEW), but your Computer does not have a COM port.  You want to run your Program on another Computer (call it PC2) that does have a COM port, and may (or may not) have LabVIEW.

• If PC2 does have LabVIEW, then you can develop your Program there, and can use the Serial VIs to handle communication for you.  If it does not have LabVIEW, then you are going to have to build an executable version of your LabVIEW program developed on your PC and port it over (a more involved undertaking, requiring possibly higher licensing levels).