LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to open a .txt file from a real-time application

Hello:

I'm fairly new to labVIEW and have come across a little problem I can't figure out.  We use cRIO's and run real-time applications on them using the minidisplayport to view the front page.  We are use 2015 SP1.  The VI controls a piece of equipment. Primarily data aquisition.  At specified intervals the operator will push a "snapshot button" which saves temperature and pressure values to a datasheet.txt file which is in a folder i created on the cRIO.  I want to add a button on the front page that will open the .txt file so that the operator can view it.  I'm using the System Exec.vi to open the file.  When I tested it on my pc it works fine.  I wired "notepad datasheet" to the command line and when the button is pushed the VI launches notepad and then loads the file (datasheet.txt).  When I try it on the deployed VI on the cRIO I cannot get it to work. I believe the "notepad" on the cRIO is called "mousepad". So I tried wiring "mousepad datasheet" to the system exec VI but no dice.  I've tried the full path of the file in the command line and still no dice.  Any help would be great.

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,662 Views)

I'm quite sure the cRIO does not have notepad.  And I've never heard of "mousepad".  Where did you hear about this?

Instead of using a system exec command, why not just have VI that is called and opened dynamically in parallel that reads the test file and displays it in a large string indicator.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,643 Views)