LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to Add a Timing Element to Case Structure

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am new to LabVIEW and currently working on a project to design a system that detects when an accelerometer has exceeded a predetermined value and then triggers a case statement. The condition to this is that I would like the case statement to be delayed 10 seconds to determine the final case. I have looked into multiple timing functions and LabVIEW and have had no success as I believe the while loop I am using prohibits them. I am currently using LabVIEW 2016 (Student Edition) with an NI MyDAQ to collect and analyze my data. Could someone help me with this issue?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,910 Views)

The neat, standard way, to do it is to use a state machine. It is a ubiquitous design that is really useful for you to learn.

If I understand your requirements correctly you could also do it in a way more like your current design.

I am not going to do your homework, but here is a hint: Consider whether your "final case" should be in the same while loop as the initial detection code.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,888 Views)

There is also the question of whether you only need to verify if it meets that condition after 10 seconds, or if you need to verify if it met that condition for the entire 10 seconds.

Part of what I'm seeing in your code is that the delay is outside of your data flow, so all it is doing is making the case statement wait for 10 seconds before it can exit.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,879 Views)

My end-goal is to have it begin monitoring the accelerometer again after 10 seconds and determine the case. 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(2,833 Views)

Thank you for your advice! I will look into maybe moving the case around and see if I can obtain my desired result.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(2,831 Views)

@BryceHina wrote: