LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble connecting USB Mic to LabView via MAX - Win 10

Dear LabView Community,

I hope you have some advice for me on how to proceed with the following Problem:

Background: I am new to LabView and want to work myself into the topic.

Apart from the programming which I assume is quite fun (for me), I have troubles getting started with the whole program as whole I guess:

I just wanted to do the tutorial with my Microphone and I already struggle connecting it, or make it visible for LabView. It's the Sennheiser PC 8, quite a crappy standard mic for which I didn't find a driver.

I tried to add it via MAX, but the program doesn't find it (the tutorial says "refresh" so you can see it...). I didn't work before on such a basic programming level where I would have to deal with driver issues in a way that I would have to "create" them myself or would have to dive pretty deep into the system itself (just for info).

Okay - so I figured out I would have to do a little more than that. The problem is, that in the device manager the microphone has no COM Port, at least I don't see it. So when I want to add the device via MAX by serial and assigning a COM port, that doesn't work.

Now I tried to use NI-VISA Driver Wizard to create a driver for the device. Apart from an error message at the beginning (Error - 1073807175: bLength field is incorrect for USB_ENDPOINT_DESCRIPTOR type) I can create a USB driver for my device. Yet the installation from the Wizard doesn't work and the (tells me may be I should do it as admin but that doesn't work either).