From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Triggering Encoder Signal To Read Frequency

Hey,

as a part of my master thesis i had to switch to another measurement system which requires LabVIEW to run correctly after the original system broke down.  Therefore I am totally new to LabVIEW.

Our test rig is monitored by different analog sensors and two encoders. It also sends a digital trigger signal every 15 minutes to the system to start the measurement.  The main goal is that the data after each trigger signal is saved in a file there each column represents one sensor.

I am trying to trigger an encoder signal with a digital edge but constantly receiving the error that the device (USB-6363) does not support the task of triggering. For the analog signals it is working fine (upper part of attached VI).

We tried another method there LabVIEW constantly plots the data and only writes it to a file when the trigger signal occurs but without success (not in attachment). 

If someone has an idea how I could solve this problem, i would highly appreciate it. 

Thanks,

Rene.

Setup:

LabVIEW 2019 SP1

NI USB-6363 BNC

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,667 Views)

I can't look at your code unless you back-save, preferably to LV 2016 or earlier.

If I understand correctly, I'd configure the analog task for retriggerable finite acquisition and then configure the encoder tasks to use the AI task's sample clock.  Then they won't need to be triggered, you just need to start the encoder tasks *before* starting AI.

Else, you'll need to look into "Arm Start" triggering for the encoder tasks, which adds a level of complication you probably don't need.

-Kevin P