LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transfer 20MHz signal from FPGA to RT

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Labview and FPGA programming... I am using NI PXIe-8133 Controller card and NI-5781 FlexRio card. My task is to take input of 20 MHz external signal and then process it further... I have to transfer that signal from FPGA to RT with the use of FIFO (that is what I understand). I referred the following example and succeeded in transferring a low frequency signal (range of KHz) from FPGA to RT as the sampling rate is in micro seconds.

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/11198/en

But I want to have sampling rate in nanoseconds if I want to take a signal of 20 MHz. How can I achieve that? Is there any alternate method apart from FIFO to achieve that task?

I am a starter in Labview, your help will be appreciated...

Thank you....

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,885 Views)

Hello eBuddy,
Please ensure that you have all support for FlexRIO installed and then look into the following example (path might be slightly different dependent if you are using 32-bit OS or 64-bit OS and LabVIEW version).
C:\Program Files (x86)\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2012\examples\FlexRIO\IO Modules\NI 5781\NI 5781 Getting Started
That project is a good starting point for you to set up the acquisition properly (upper two loops, might not need the generation loop, not sure what you want to do more).
The middle loop (Analog Input) handles the DMA transfer to host application and depending if you need generation you can modify the corresponding host code as well (remove analog output related code). Then look into “Producer/Consumer design patterns (data)” where one make use of queues to send data from one loop (your analog input related loop in your RT host code) to an additional loop where you do your file I/O. Look for TDMS or binary file I/O examples.

Regards,
Jimmie Adolph
Systems Engineering Manager, National Instruments Northern European Region

0 Kudos