LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Traditional NI-DAQ 7.4.1 installer fails

Hello,

Sorry if this is the wrong message board, I'm new to this.  I installed the 7.0 runtime engine on a machine that has no NI boards installed.  When I attempted to run one of the exes, I got the message, nidaq32.dll missing.  I found that this meant that I had to install the traditional ni-daq drivers on the machine on which I installed the runtime engine.  I found and downloaded the traditional ni-daq 7.4.1 installer, and I am attempting to run it.  (I should say I'm running on a standard Windows XP SP2 box, nothing special, but the only other NI software installed is the 7.0 runtime engine).

However, when I execute the resulting "setup.exe" to install, it runs, but once it actually tries to install the selected components I receive the error:

The "xxx" installation has failed with the following error.
The system cannot find the file specified.
Continue?

The "xxx" is replaced with each of the components that it wants to install (upon hitting "Continue"), starting with "NI Uninstaller", though that is just the first of many.  If I hit continue until the end it indicates the installation failed, and it appears that nothing has been installed.  I still am missing the nidaq32.dll.

What is going wrong?  How do I successfully install the traditional ni-daq drivers?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

-Eric Twietmeyer

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,880 Views)
Hi Eric,

Thank you for all the details. This is the LabVIEW forum and your question is more related to DAQ but no worries, here is my opinion on the issue:
You should not have problems with this installation. I would think on two possible problems:
- If you download the driver from the web, they come in ZIP format and when you run the setup, some of the files are still compressed and cannot be found. The solution is to extract all files into a folder and then run the setup.