LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips for making cRIO deployment less painful?

Solved!
Go to solution

I inherited a project last year that uses a cRIO, it's my first time using one of these. Since then, almost every time I use it is an uphill battle. If I want to deploy working code it takes about 4 hours brute-forcing different combinations of Connect, Deploy, Launch, Reboot and staring at this sort of screen:

OneOfTheDans_0-1668716044921.png

Here are the frequent problems I have:

• NI MAX is slow and buggy, but it holds the keys to the kingdom. I keep this open to keep an eye on CPU and Memory. Sometimes clicking "Refresh" will hang the cRIO or hang MAX itself.
  • "LabVIEW: (Hex 0x661) The LabVIEW Real-Time process encountered an unexpected error and restarted automatically."
  • Connecting to the cRIO will sometimes fail with nondescript errors or hang for 10 mins until I Cancel.
  • Deploying Shared Variables to the cRIO fails about 1/4 of the time, again nondescript (or the whole cRIO will hang).
  • Finally, Launching my VI will sometimes fail unless I go and explicitly clear the cache and restart LabVIEW a couple of times.

All in all, it's a frustrating waste of time - how has your experience with cRIOs been, and do you have any workarounds to this unreliable deployment platform?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(1,736 Views)

For larger projects it sometimes seems easier to just build and deploy the built rtexe rather than try to interactively deploy.

Matt J | National Instruments | CLA
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(1,721 Views)

Thank you, I see how that would help with deploying my own code (my last bullet), but it seems the rest of the platform should be more stable. For example, Connecting to the cRIO should be simple and rarely error... asking NI MAX to Refresh the cRIO status shouldn't lock up either of those things.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(1,714 Views)