LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timer

How to create a timer that starts after a boolean changes to TRUE and after the time we set elapses (for example 7 seconds) we go to the next state in the state machine

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(1,171 Views)

Can we assume that you studied what was suggested to you two weeks ago? Did you run into any specific problems?

Message 2 of 16
(1,168 Views)

It helped me a lot but I didn't quite understand it fully because I'm a beginner. I have to use NI DAQ hardware and after a signal crosses a threshold voltage the timer starts. So I used DAQmx read and a threshold constant in a "Greater than" function, that should give me a boolean and now i don't know how to start a timer when boolean turns TRUE

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(1,155 Views)

Most people here don't have your exact hardware, so start with a simple simulation, replacing the analog input with a front panel slider where you can change the voltage. Just keep reading it and when the threshold is reached, go to the state that counts down the timer. Feel free to attach what you made and we will offer some guidance.

Message 4 of 16
(1,147 Views)

grillmillivanilli_0-1651971324041.png

I used your timer but I need it to start only when the current value is greater than my threshold, so I need your help to show me where to connect my ''greater than'' function. I honestly don't even know if this will work i just need to pass an exam

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 16
(1,137 Views)
@grillmillivanilli wrote:

I used your timer but I need it to start only when the current value is greater than my threshold, so I need your help to show me where to connect my ''greater than'' function. I honestly don't even know if this will work i just need to pass an exam

I admire your honesty!  Have you considered simply bribing the Instructor?  Do you want our help in lying to the Instructor (who expects you to do your own work)?