LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timed Shutoff

Hi all,

I’m a recent ME grad and have a little bit of LabView experience from university. Timing is a portion of LabView that I never really dealt with and it’s causing me a bit of trouble. I'm working on a program that will control a series of autoclaves. I currently have a working code that measures temperature from a  thermocouple connected to an NI-9211 and then, using an NI-9472, turns an oven on or off depending on whether that temperature is above or below the desired temperature and the system is turned on. After a little bit of thought, I decided there should be a timer that can be set to make sure that an oven turns off on its own in case an operator can’t get back to it in time.

Before posting this, I tried doing some research on the matter and found that this is a pretty common question. After some reading, I looked into the example “State Machine” but I don’t really know how to apply it to what I want.

Ultimately, I would like to be able to input a time, say 15 minutes, and have an indicator count down to 0 and then turn off the signal to the oven so it turns off. I tried playing with the Elapsed Time and Time Delay VIs, but I couldn't figure out how to use them properly. Would anybody be able to help me out with this? I have attached a screenshot of the program if it should help.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,802 Views)

@DeanAK wrote:

I have attached a screenshot of the program if it should help.

Not so much, but attaching your VI (or "code") is immensely helpful.  If you have several VIs (more than 3), put them in a folder, compress the folder, and attach the ZIP file.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,763 Views)

Hi Bob, rather than upload the whole program, Here are a couple samples of what I am looking to accomplish.