LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time Division Multiplexing and Processing Different Loops at the same time

Hi, I am new in Labview so you may find my questions too silly, sorry about that:)

I want to design an interface to control the test&measurement devices remotely. I have two desks and there are several devices on these desks. The real problem is to use two different devices at the same time. To do this I heard that I can use time division multiplexing. But I couldn't find enough information about it in Labview. Another advice I heard was to use a matrice and hold the on/off state of the devices in this matrice. 

Where should I start the design to create such a system? Do you have any advices? Thank you in advance.

My basic GUI is attached.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,567 Views)

You did not give us several important pieces of information.

How will the computer communicate with the devices? Do you have device drivers for all of the devices?

What is involved in "using two different devices at the same time"? Does this include user interation with the devices or automated actvity? 

How much information will be sent to and from the devices? How fast will it be sent? How often does data need to be displayed to the user or saved to a file?

Is this part of an automatic control system?  Do the different devices interact with each other?  Will you ever need to use more than two devices simultaneously?

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,516 Views)
In general you can interact with multiple devices at the same time -- but there are limitations. For instance, if the devices share a common communications resource -- like a single GPIB port or a multipoint RS485 connection. In those cases you need to finish the interaction with one device before you start interacting with another device.