From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thesis using labview for fiber alignment

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm a student and i'm doing my thesis, or trying to do it 🙂

It's about the development of an automatic eletronic system for fiber alignment.

With my poor english i'll try to explain how all has to work 🙂

A laser emittes light that goes into a fiber that ends on a "melles griot photon control nanoblock" (it's a block that can move on 3 axis to align the fiber). Then on an other block there is an other fiber that ends on a revelator that reads its power and so the power that arrives from the alignment. Actually there are other things, but this are enough to understand...

I'm using labview 6 (and i can't update it because in my laboratory we have only this, so please refer to this version and possibilities) to control an SR830 Lock-in amplifier that reads the power from the relevator, and that controls a “Melles Griot piezo electric driver” (it's an instrument that can move nanometrically the photon control nanoblock and so the fiber...) that is obviously connected with the photon control nanoblock...

I have to move one fiber on two axis trying to reach the maximum point of power on the reveletor, that coincide with the optimum alignment. So i have to tell to the lock-in wich voltage to give to the piezoelectric to move to search the maximum and i have to read from the lock-in the power intensity to predict the direction.

After reaching the maximum i have to control that this values is mantained during time, so i have to mantaine this value.

I made a quite logical algortihm that doesn't uses to much math.