cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature controling software

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey guys.

Im currently studying at technical univeristy of graz and on my way to my bac degrees.

For my thesis it is my job to develope a temperature controling software using a optris cs lt infrared sensor  to measure the temperature and an mcs tc02 controler to heat up the liquid to later heat a patch clamp system. The higher accuracy it acchieves the better, but everything under 0,5 °C is tollerable. At the moment i worked with stupidly measuring the temp. and if its lower heat more, if its hotter heat less. This methode brings mit to about +- 0,3°C but is very unreliable. It walks between plus and minus and sometimes produces spikes  of about 1 °C.

Now im thinking about how to make a good controlling software and did stumble apon pid-controllers. But as i'm a beginner in labview i have no idea how to implement one. Can you help me by looking at what i've got so far and maybe help me implement the controler or give me an idea how to do it differently?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,918 Views)

Hi octaris,

LabVIEW comes with ready-to-use PID controllers, no need to implement them on your own.

(Btw. which LabVIEW version do you use?)

And they also provide example VIs to explain them…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,899 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thanks for your quick reply!

I'm using labview 2016.

In the before post i attached a vi snippet. In that i tried using the std labview pid it provides and read up all in labviews help menu but i cant get it to work.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,875 Views)

According to its website, your MCS TC02 already is a PID (well, PI) controller. Is there some reason you can't use it to do the control?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(3,871 Views)

Hi octaris,