From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature control system using thermocouples and cooling fans

Greetings labview community,

I'm fairly new to the labview program and though I have watched the tutorial videos and tried to search these forums I couldn't find a solution to my problem.

I need to write a program in labview that controls the temperature via use of fans inside a case with heatsinks and various electronic parts.

In particular I want to use two thermocouples, in order to measure the temperature of two transistors (one in each side of the case), where heatsinks are placed on top of them.

When the temperature is above 25 degrees, a fan should activate. The fans speed should be faster, the longer the temperature stays above 25 degrees, until it drops down to 25 degrees. 

How can this be done? I thought of using a "mask and limit testing" for activating it, but I can't figure out how to control the speed of the fan in a loop automatically based on the temperature.

Here are some of my specifications:

USB-6009 (this was provided to me and is therefore my only option)

Labview 2011

NIDAQmx 9.5 driver

2 thermocouples (one for measuring the temperature for each transistor and activating one fan)

2 fans 0-5V 

Below you'll see an attachment of the program I've wrote so far (just for one set of thermocouple-fan) and I'm using a slider to simulate the input from the thermocouple. If there is anymore information needed, tell me. 

Thank you very much.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,171 Views)

Hi Lomedil

What you have is a general control problem. This statement:

"The fans speed should be faster, the longer the temperature stays above 25 degrees, until it drops down to 25 degrees. "