LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TDR using Oscilloscope

Hi all,

First post here, I am a student studying electrical and electronics. I have chosen to make a Time Domain Reflectometer as my final year self directed project. I have little experience in LabVIEW and was wondering could I use an Oscilloscope as a means of capturing the reflections from a cable and then using that captured data in LabVIEW. 

I have a Rigol 1054 oscilloscope readily available that is capable of 1Gs/s and I am unsure if a usb connection between the pc and  oscilloscope would sufficient or would it limit the amount of samples I can gather per second?

Sorry for the long winded post, I would be very greatful for any replies that could point me in the right direction.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,060 Views)

Hi Mark,

@Markb97 wrote:

I have little experience in LabVIEW and was wondering could I use an Oscilloscope as a means of capturing the reflections from a cable and then using that captured data in LabVIEW. 

Yes - you can do this. Or at least, it can be done 🙂 There appears to be a driver here: RIGOL DS1000 Series Oscilloscope that might help you out. It looks as though it was released in 2012, and it doesn't explicitly list your model, so there's a chance that it will be not using modern best practices, or might be missing a few commands specific to your device, but it might get you started with transferring data from your oscilloscope.

@Markb97 wrote:

capable of 1Gs/s and I am unsure if a usb connection between the pc and  oscilloscope would sufficient or would it limit the amount of samples I can gather per second?

Acquiring continuously and without limit at 1Gs/s might take something like 8GB/s transfer speeds. So yeah, you probably can't do that over USB (even 3.1).