LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TCP connection error when sending MODBUS commands to WAGO 750-881 controller after 113655 bytes of data have been sent

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I am new to the world of labview and am attempting to build a VI which sends commands to a 750-881 WAGO controller at periodic intervals of 10ms. 

To set each of the DO's of the WAGO at once I therefore attempt to send the Modbus fc15 command every 10ms using the standard Labview TCP write module. 

When I run the VI it works for about a minute before I recieve an Error 56 message telling me the TCP connection has timed out. Thinking this strange, I decided to record the number of bytes sent via the TCP connection whilst running the program. In doing so I noticed that the connection broke after exactly 113655 Bytes of data had been sent each time. 

Thinking that I may have been sending too many messages I increased the While-loop delay from 10ms to 20, 100 and 200 ms but the error remained. I also tried playing with the TCP connection timeout and the TCP write timeout but neither of these had any effect on the problem. 

I cannot see why this error is occuring, as the program works perfectly up untill the 113655 Bytes mark. 

I have attached a screenshot of the basic VI (simply showing a MODBUS command being sent every second) and of a more advanced VI (where I am able to control each DO of the WAGO manually by setting a frequency at which the DO should switch between ON and OFF). 

If anybody has any ideas on where the problems lie, or what I could do to further debug the program this would be greatly appreciated. 

Download All
Message 1 of 7
(7,606 Views)

What happens if you add a TCP Read VI after the TCP Write (i.e. you wait for an answer from the controller) ?

Regards,

Marco

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(7,547 Views)

Hello,

Is it always exactly 113655 bytes or rather somewhere around this amount of bytes?