LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TCP communication with Keyence SR-1000 series barcode reader

Solved!
Go to solution

So I have a customer who needs help to connect the Keyence SR-1000 barcode reader using TCP/IP to a LabVIEW application. After researching Keyence's 'Connection document' for TCP, I realize it's based on their utility software alone.

Since I have no experience with barcode readers I'd appreciate any hints on what to look out for and how to go about implementing a VISA-based 'driver' for this device. Or generally, how barcode scanners are best hooked up to LabVIEW.

Thanks

Ifeanyi

Ifeanyi
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(22,702 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author michifez

@michifez wrote:

Since I have no experience with barcode readers I'd appreciate any hints on what to look out for and how to go about implementing a VISA-based 'driver' for this device. Or generally, how barcode scanners are best hooked up to LabVIEW.

You would need to get in touch with the manufacturer of the barcode reader and ask them for some documentation on the TCP communications. Without that, the best you could do is use a tool like WireShark to 'sniff' the TCP data and try to figure out what data the scanner is reading/writing to their own software and try to replicate it.

There are lots of manufacturers/types of barcode scanners - some have their own drivers (e.g. DLL) you can call, some use RS-232/Ethernet, some simply emulate a keyboard and 'type' the characters of the barcode.

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(22,691 Views)

Sam_Sharp thanks for the suggestions. I've written Keyence and now waiting for a response.

Ifeanyi
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(22,668 Views)