LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TCP/IP instabilities in LabVIEW?

I'm just beginning to work with TCP/IP in LabVIEW and I'm hitting some problems. As usual the hardest part is knowing what questions to ask.

Background: Essentially, we have a PC (Windows 7) running LabVIEW (2011), communicating with a Staubli CS8 robot controller. The code on the controller is written using Staubli's native VAL3 development environment. It's set up so that we send it pre-defined command strings via TCP/IP. The robot performs the command and when it reaches its destination it sends a response string.

If I use Putty to send the strings via command line, everything works fine, and I get the response string expected loud and clear afte the robot has performed its task. If I use LabVIEW, however, using code based on the TCP 'active' and 'passive' example functions, I get communication most of the time, but occasionally the system hangs.

The robot almost always get the movement command - this is obvious as it starts moving. The problem seems to be more to do with the fact that the 'listening' portion of the LabVIEW code seems to be occasionally missing the string sent back to the PC, and the listen loop then runs indefinitely, thereby causing the system to hang.

Using timeouts as a quick fix is out as the robot speed can be varied, therefore there is no way to know exactly when the robot is going to send back its message to the PC (although it's always going to be on the order of seconds).

So my initial questions are:

1.) Is a degree of instability normal in communications using TCP/IP?

2.) Why does LabVIEW appear to be less stable than Putty?

3.) Does anybody have TCP example VIs that I can contrast with the two examples that ship with LabVIEW?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,756 Views)

Hi caleyjag,