cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchronously displaying data in 2 graphs located in different VIs

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I am a relative beginner to LabVIEW, in that I have read some resources, done a few tutorials, and tried making some simple programs to get a feel for the program. My main project involves adding extra functionality to a LabVIEW project that is used to stimulate human tissue and record the resulting voltages (not for torture 😉 ). This point has no relevance other than it is not convenient or easy for me to test the modifications I make. This means that I have to currently make do with "proof-of-concept"-type programs and hope the proven concept will work in the real application.

Essentially, I have to make some graphs display on a second monitor. I haven't found anything that suggests that individual graphs can be displayed on another monitor, so I need to create a separate VI with the graphs to be displayed. I have already looked at how to display a VI's front panel on a second monitor, tested it, and had no problems.

My problem comes with passing data from the original graphs on the main VI, on the primary monitor, to the graphs in the second VI, on the second monitor. It seems I can do it by passing a control reference for the original graph to the second VI, or by passing the array with the original graph's data as an argument into the second VI. You can see my attempts at these two approaches in the attached files: passing the control reference (RefInput_graph_main.vi, graph_sub.vi) and passing the array (ArrayInput_graph_main.vi, ArrayInput_graph_sub.vi). The reason I am using the Simulate Signal VI is that I cannot simply do another stimulation experiment, so I need to simulate data to see if my approach works.