From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchronizing states across multiple loops

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, newbie here. I am trying to find a way to synchronize states across multiple loops. I have a number of loops that run in parallel at different rates. During each iteration some of them can change state and others have to change what they are doing depending of them. Some loops are both "consumers of states" (meaning they read the state of others and behave consequently) and "producers" (meaning they set states). 

I need a compact and scalable solution that can handle multiple producers and multiple consumers of states and is easy to modify if I need to add a new loop. So far the best solution I have found is storing states into enums and using local variables to read them in consumer loops; however, I read everywhere that local variables should be avoided. 

A Queued State Machine seems similar to what I need but it seems optimized for one consumer, whereas I need many of them. I tried using notifiers but they are only useful when changing states, not for storing them, because every Wait on Notification sees the new state only once. This forced me to add a shift register to store the content of the latest notification, but this seems overly complicated and needs a lot of wires and case structures which can be avoided using local variables.