LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchronizing lights with music

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am a Undergraduate student doing a project which consists in me synchronizing lights with music using LabView. I am still learning LabView and don't have that much experience from it. Since I am pretty much told that I have to do the project by myself and the only thing that my university will help with is the equipment, I am kind of lost to be honest.

I would like to know if the LabView community could shed some light on how should I try this. I cannot use Arduino. At my disposal I have a USB-6000, USB-6009, USB-6341, USB-6002 and USB-6525. Some of these seem to bee designed to more complex tasks, however at the same time I can't pin how complex is to sync lights to music, so that is why I would like to also ask which one you guys suggest me. Also, this might sound a bit stupid but, is there an

Just to clarify a little bit more. I intend to make lights ''dance'' along the music. At the moment I still can't choose between led strip lights or Pixel led lights. I think the latter would make the project more complex, since I can make the lights have different colors and intensity (while the led strip would only have the same color and intensity through the whole strip). It also needs to have voice recognition and Bluetooth (So if any of you would like to recommend me a Bluetooth adapter or mic that you think would be the best choice for this, please do).

I would really appreciate any help. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,758 Views)

There are lots of ways to do this but think about a "color organ"

1. Use one of the DAQ's analog inputs to "hear" the music, then do some simple analysis on it
  2.  Apply a few filters (High pass, low pass, band pass)
  3. Take the outputs of the filters and compare them to a (variable) level. So you can adjust the sensitivity