LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchronization of Measurement Instruments with Waveform Generator

To all,

I am relatively new to LABVIEW and thus would really appreciate your assistance/patience. 

I am trying to synchronize several different instruments (Force Sensor/High Speed Cameras) to start and record data at the same time. I want to accomplish this goal by using the waveform generator to send a square wave at the sampling rate (ex. 15,000 HZ) to each device and record data (voltage/take a picture) for each wave. I also need to "start" the machine that runs the test.

I currently am using a single square wave pulse to start the cameras and intialize the force sensor/machine. A square wave pulse gets sent into the camera, the camera starts, the DAQ clears the task and then force sensor/machine are intialized. This creates a delay between the camera, force sensor and machine and thus makes analyzing the data difficulty. This is the part of the code that I would like to change so that I am continuously sending in the square wave pulse.

I have attached two overlapping screenshots that shows my current labview program.

Any help that you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

gcass

rightside.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 45
(4,330 Views)

Hello gcass,

Can you tell me what DAQ device you are using so I can get a better idea of your setup? I assume you are using separate DAQ cards to read the force sensor and cameras. Instead of generating a squarewave and then outputting that signal, it may be more efficient to use the internal clocks and counters on the DAQ devices that you are using. 

Refer to this article for a summary of the various ways to sync up devices:

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/4322 (there are examples available for download at the end of this article)