LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student struggling with LabVIEW and cRIO

Background:
      I'm an undergraduate mechanical engineering student, minoring in computer science. I've been working in this lab for almost a year now. In that time I have been learning LabVIEW, but more specifically learning how to operate a myRIO and a cRIO. My job has been to recreate the VIs that they have been running on NI-DAQ systems on the cRIO. I have learned a lot, but I am also struggling a lot because I am the only one in the lab learning about the RIO devices. Therefore no one in the lab is really able to help me, so I have to turn to the forums because I am at a point where I am not sure what to do.

About the project:
      I am trying to take the three main VIs they are using (the camera, the mass flow controller, and the microphone) and combine them to run simultaneously. I attached the original VIs that I have been given in case that is any help. I am using shared variables (I know it isn't the best method, but it is the one I understand the most) to communicate data between devices. Right now the VIs aren't very neat, I'm self taught in LabVIEW, so I apologize if it is hard to read/understand any tips on better organization/style would also be greatly appreciated.

Equipment:
      cRIO-9035
      NI 9264 (Analog out)
      NI 9213 (Thermocouple, currently not using in the project)
      NI 9205 (Analog in)
      NI 9344 (On/Off switches)
      NI 9401 (currently not using in the project)

Issues:

(1) FFT:

I'm not sure if my fast Fourier transform is done properly on the cRIO. I haven't been able to test, but I am pretty doubtfula about it. I am trying to have it operate exactly like the FFT-DAQ image attached, but I had to get creative with it for the cRIO since I couldn't use the DAQ assistant module in LabVIEW. I'm sure there has to be an easier way to do what I did, but I am not able to figure it out/find one.