From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Struggling with Event Structures

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm pretty new to LabVIEW and I'm having some real difficulty with event structures. In the example I've attached, I have a very simple VI where the user inputs an array. There are three buttons, one to close the VI, one to clear the array, and one to graph the array (I know I could just use a case structure in the while loop to do the graphing, I'm trying to learn how to use event structures). 

When I run this VI, it 1) doesn't graph, 2) won't close until after all three buttons have been pressed. I have no clue what's going on, when I run it in debug mode and step through something weird is going on and I can't figure out where the VI is getting stuck on. I'm not sure if it's because of the condition (on button push) and maybe that condition is being hit before the VI runs on accident, or what. I'm honestly really confused here.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,374 Views)

LabVIEW is a little different from languages like C, Basic, and Matlab -- it uses the Principle of Data Flow which gives it some unusual properties.  If you are learning LabVIEW on your own, without access to a book, a course (like NI's Core 1 and Core 2), or a decent Mentor, it will be a little more difficult, particularly for some concepts like the Event Structure, which is (almost) always combined with a surrounding While Loop to make an Event Loop.

The purpose of an Event Structure is to respond to an Event, when it happens, without you having to write a lot of code ("Did it happen yet?  Did it happen yet? Did it happen yet? ...")