From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing a temperary value!

Dear Labview experts,
                                 I am new to Labview and I donot know much tricks. I have the following problem. I am using DAQmx card to acquire voltage from a IR receiver board. The output of this board varies for a small period of time due to the variation at the input. I can trace this change by delaying the signal and comparing with the current value of the voltage and then I use logical comparision to decide I have change(1) or no change(0). I can see the signal change  but I want to store the value to control another while loop. Meaning when I get 1 the while loop must stop execution.

For storing the value I tried by adding this value with the feedback loop. But I do not see any value at the output of the adder I always see 0. Where am I making mistake? please help me to solve this problem.  Any idea would be much helpful.

Advanced Thanks for the users.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,074 Views)

Suggesting a solution might be easier if you attached the vi you are working on...

You can right click on the side of your while loop and add a 'shift register'. It places a node on each side of the while loop, the right side to store newly acquired data in, the left side to retrieve the previous iterations data (or the initialized value for the first iteration).

If you want to detect a change in data and use that result to stop another while loop you can use a 'local variable' in the second loop to read the data written to an indicator inside the first loop.