LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stepper motor vibrates but does not turn

http://iosrjen.org/Papers/RDME-2018/Volume-1/2.%2009-13.pdf

Following this paper, I am now using NEMA 17 stepper motor, a microstep driver and myRIO to operate a stepper motor. However, after I develop a VI that's exactly the same to the one in the paper above, my stepper motor only vibrates and does not turn. I think my wire connections between the 4 wires in the stepper motor and the microstep driver is correct. Other wire connections between myRIO, stepper motor, driver and the battery are in good conditions too.

The thing that I don't understand is which pin do I use in myRIO, as shown below, to connect the motor driver pins in blue part (ENA-, ENA+, DIR-, DIR+, PUL-, PUL+)

Annotation 2019-09-12 005852.png

Which pin in myRIO should I use? I am a beginner and I don't really understand what is the function of each different pin, perhaps anyone can provide some links on this? The VI I used is attached below.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,796 Views)

I have attached the myRIO device pinout below. DIO 8 is pin 27, DIO 9 is pin 29, and +5V is Pin 1. 

http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/376047c.pdf#page=4 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(2,710 Views)

Very basics: Digital control signals (PULse, ENAble, DIRection) have high and low state. If you connect 0V to "-" terminal and +5 V to "+" terminal, it is ON state - Direction will be clockwise, Enable will tell driver to turn on. If there is no difference (both 5V, This driver recommends to keep "+" terminal at 5V and you change voltage on "-"), terminal will say opposite: anticlockwise direction, turn motion off

PULse is continuously running pulses, they determine speed of rotation. 100 Hz = 100 steps/s, check driver and motor specs for range.