LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

State machine no longer in design patterns

Solved!
Go to solution

I have been using Labview to program user GUIs for 15 years now as a sideline to my work. I started with Labview 7 (or 6, can't remember) and saw new features being added over the years to every new release. It used to be a secret (or it seemed that way) back then that in order to avoid spagetty-code, a state machine design was a good practice. Along came then a new Labview version (again forgot which) having design patters as templates, and sure enough the state machine pattern was one of them. But then in the later releases state machines are no longer included in the templates' collection. I've always wondered why. Is NI advicing us to used other patterns instead? I still use state machines extensibly, but started looking into the others as well (specially events). I still find code written as a state machine to be the most efficient and lean, easy to mainain, document, and understand. I've had some nasty effects using events. Any one agrees?

Message 1 of 11
(4,780 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Billynares

I disagree. There is no such thing as you use state machine OR Events. All in my codes I use both of them. State machine is a programmatic concept, Events is a programming tool (sorry for the naming, English is not my first language).

So it does not make sense to compare Events <--> State machines, they are not in the same category. And if you had "nasty effects" with Events, it only means you did not learn a proper use of them yet. I suggest you to have a look some more advanced desgn patterns, like a Queued State Machine (with Events), where you have a GUI loop with an Event structure and another loop where your state machine exist, and states can self-Enqueue themself, accept commands from the EVent loop, etc...