LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

State machine architecture

Hi, im still pretty new to labview, I have built a program that is functional just wondering how to make it better and more efficient. Someone told me to use a state machine architecture with my program but not too sure how to implement it/ if it would be beneficial.

Thanks 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(2,745 Views)

18 is pretty new. You might get better\faster response if you save to a previous version (or even a screenshot).

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(2,740 Views)

First of all read this: Application Design Patterns: State Machines

Secondly, start by thinking about the stages your code goes through.  I immediately see "Start up", "Initialize Equipment", "Shutdown". "Take Readings", "Adjust Current".  I would also add a state with a dialog to let the user input the desired settings instead of waiting for the start button to be pressed.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 3 of 16
(2,710 Views)

what are the benefits of doing this? Essentially just rearranging my program.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 16
(2,692 Views)

@newman3108 wrote:

The computer couldn't care less of course how things are arranged. "It works, why bother?" is heard often. But that "it works" for the computer (it does what it is told) doesn't mean "it works" for (other) programmers.

In general, rearrangements are useful if the changed code better reflect 'reality'. Afterwards, it better tell (other) programmers what the program is doing. It becomes more 'self documenting' (although it should of course follow from a design and be documented).