LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Start/Stop button and crashing

Hello!

I am trying to modify ready .vi that came as a driver with a monochromator that I use. So I have snatched some of the stuff from that .vi and modified it how I need. Now I am trying to add a Start/Stop button that I found as a solution here in forums. When I put in random number generator or any other task in this case structure, the button works fine. When I put in my actual program, the labview crashes.

I presume I have done something wrong when just copying the stuff from that driver, however my program works by itself, but not in this scenario. How can I tell if there is something wrong with call library function node and what should I fix?
I am not too experienced with GUI programming and programming in general, so sorry if this is a rookie mistake.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,483 Views)

Hi Arturs,

@ArtursK wrote:

Now I am trying to add a Start/Stop button that I found as a solution here in forums. When I put in random number generator or any other task in this case structure, the button works fine. When I put in my actual program, the labview crashes.

Please explain what exactly happens when "LabVIEW crashes"!

When that button os FALSE your VI will just burn one CPU core for no good reason. Why is there no wait in the FALSE case?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,478 Views)

Thank you for your answer!

If I run the VI, it's running and there are no issues (false case). As soon as I press ''Start'' and it starts executing the program I want, the LabView freezes and I have to kill the program.

Would just ''wait'' work?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,438 Views)

Have you verified that the original vi runs properly?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(1,430 Views)