cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speeding Up DAQ and AO VI

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm new to Labview and NI products and wasn't able to find my answer after browsing through a bunch threads on similar topics.  I have a cDAQ system that pulls from 5 pressure transducer channels (NI 9205), 1 thermocouple channel (NI 9213) and has 3 AO (NI 9264) that need to be triggered by timers and/or (not yet programmed) by data from the thermocouple channel.  I mimicked online examples of multi channel acquisition, but even with my thermo channel on high speed (which should be 75 S/s I think), I can only get ~2 Hz out of the loop.  Would really appreciate your guys' advice!

Jack_Oswald_0-1625009936223.png

Best,

Jack

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,371 Views)

Hi Jack,

@Jack_Oswald wrote:

Would really appreciate your guys' advice!

Some advice:

• Don't use JPG format for LabVIEW code images, use PNG instead! (Less blurry…)
  • When attaching LabVIEW code images you should create them from LabVIEW by creating snippets!
  • When discussing YOUR CODE you should attach YOUR CODE, and not just images of part of your code!

That basic stuff being said:

• Why do you create 5 AI tasks to read your 5 pressure sensors? Why don't you create just one task containing all 5 channels?
  • Why don't you set a samplerate for those AI task(s)? Why do you choose the slowest option to read "1 sample on demand"?
  • Why do you make things even slower by pipelining your 5 AI tasks to read those 5 samples one after the other?

Once you replace those 5 tasks by just one task your loop will (most probably) immediately run faster!

More things to say:

• Why do you collect all those samples in arrays in all those shift registers? Building up arrays in an umlimited way will greatly slow down your loop (sooner or later)!