From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed up usb transfer with Spartan 3E

Hello! I am new to LabView programming and interaction with fpga borads so I have not mastered the secrets yet. As a student working on a project involving communication between a host computer and a Spartan 3E board, I have found the capabilities of LabView and the NI fpga driver very appealing and powerful. I am trying to design an algorithm processing image data onto the fpga borad which in its turn has to receive, process and send the data back to the host machine. The problem lies in the fact that communication through reading or writing indicators and controls is a slow method. I have read about using DMA FIFOs for that purpose but unfortunately there is no such functionality enabled for the Spartan 3E board. The code in the fpga chip executes inside a single cycle timed loop and it seems to me that the main problem lies in the fact that data transfer is accomplished using controls and indicators. Communication is done via usb using the provided Xilinx cable driver. I would be grateful if you suggest ways to speed up the transfer or changing the method I am using. My university does not have other types of fpga boards and for that reason I am limited to that specific Xilinx board.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,281 Views)

Hi Firewalker,

If I'm not mistaken, you are looking for fast way how to exchange larger data between host PC nad FPGA.