LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulating Hardware

Hello.

I need to write some labview code to read a number of sensors that are connected to an SCXI-1100 and SCXI-1102 boards.  Unfortunately I don't have the hardware in hand...  Is it possible to use DAQmx without having the hardware attached?  I tried to simulate the hardware through Measurement and Automation explorer but there was no option for these devices.

I'm new to labview but it seems like there should be the ability to specify hardware that is not hooked up... I just can't find the option!

Thanks for any help.

terry

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,081 Views)

Hi Terry,

You can simulate both the SCXI-1100 and SCXI-1102 boards by first simulating an SCXI device and then choosing them as the inserted modules. This will be done in the Chassis Configuration dialogue box when you first instantiate the newly simulated SCXI chassis.

Regards,

Alex Thomas, University of Manchester School of EEE LabVIEW Ambassador (CLAD)

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,079 Views)

Thanks Alex.  I am in the process of getting that info so I can simulate the hardware in MAX.

Another question:  once all the code is written, how do I stop simulating and start using the actual hardware?  Is this something I do in MAX or in the DAQmx Express components in LabView?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,072 Views)

Hi again Terry,

You can remove hardware in MAX by right clicking on the simulated device in the Devices and Interfaces folder and selecting Delete.

The VI you've developed will refer to the simulated hardware even once it has been deleted, so I suggest using Controls rather than Constants for device references in your acquisition tasks so you can easily change the channel references once you've finished simulating. For Express tasks, you can double click on the Express VI and reassign the channels there.

Regards,