LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple VI that Alternates Values

Hi, I have an extremely easy question but since I am a LV novice, I don't know the best method of doing this.  I have a much bigger problem but if I understand this concept, I think it will help me out in the long run.

Basically, I want to have two numeric input fields, and one numeric display.  There will also be an input for time.  I want to be able to input two different numbers (example: 2, and 4), and a time value (let's say 1 second).  Then I want to click a start button and have the numerical display alternate between the two numbers every 1 second.

If you can answer this for me, that would be great.  However the bigger picture is that I am wanting to program a linear actuator controller to alternate between two postions, with a pause inbetween each movement.  Hopefully I'll get to that point, but for now I need to know the basics.  

Thanks for the help!

Mac

Message 1 of 14
(2,886 Views)

Below is a simple example.

There were many ways of implementing a solution. I did it this way to demonstrate that you can have a simple solution, yet scalable.  Scalable in the sense that if you add more elements to the array, it will cycle through each element.

The downside of this example is that when you click on the stop button, it may take up to the delta-time to respond.  However, I am overlooking that fact for this example.

Message 2 of 14
(2,879 Views)

I didn't like the first example..

It did not start by clicking on a START button as you indicated in your post.

This is a slightly improved version.  Not to my liking, but done in a very short time...

It will give you some idea on how to implement your solution.