cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple V-i Measurements with a Keithley 2400 Sourcemeter on LabView

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi!

I am pretty new to the world of LabView and I am very lost right now. I am trying to do some very basic measurements with a Keithley 2400 Sourcemeter on LabView. I am using a startech USB to RS232 Serial Adapter and I am running the newest version of LabView (not NXG). I have downloaded the keithley driver available on the NI website, as well as some additional drivers from startech for the adapter.

When I use the "search for instruments" function (under tools and instrument drivers), LabView does not detect the Keithley. However, under MAX, I found the COM it is connected to, and renamed it to"Keithley", so I can recognize it in the LabView program and set the VISA to the correct COM. When I run any simple example program from the Keithley driver (such as turn off display or measure resistance), the Keithley will "beep" and display the following "Error: ID -113 Undefined Header". After this, I get an error if I try running the program again on LabView and it seems the connection is lost. I have to restart the Keithley and LabView in order to try running the program again without the error.

I have no idea what to do or how to fix this. How do I get setup properly? Also, how do I go about verifying that the connection is there and correct? Any help would be very much appreciated because I have been trying to solve this for a week, with absolutely no luck. 

Thanks,

Bavley

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(8,223 Views)

Hi bavley,

that error is given by your Keithley because the received message is malformed. You need to read the manual of the Keithley to learn about the expected message format and compare this with the data you send from your VI...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 16
(8,198 Views)