From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Signal generation and acquisition for automated test with PXIe-5442 and PXI-5105

Solved!
Go to solution

I need to build an automated test set using a PXIe-5442 AWG and niFgen to generate signals for a device-under-test and a PXI-5105 and niScope to record the device's response to the signals. This is my first time with LabView and I'm looking for some guidance. I'm not sure I understand the concepts well enough to find the right examples and forum posts. I'm using LabVIEW 2020.

Below is a representative example of my automated test. All signals are 1.00 Volt amplitude. Rather than switching the output on and off to create the desired space between signals, I've used a DC 0 volt waveform for easy scripting:

1. Sine Chirp, 30 kHz - 60 kHz, 1 second duration
2. DC 0 Volts, 0.5 second duration
3. Sine Chirp, 120 kHz - 125 kHz, 10 seconds duration
4. DC 0 Volts, 0.5 seconds duration
5. Sine, 10 Hz, 10 seconds duration
6. DC 0 Volts, 5 seconds duration
7. Sine, 150 kHz, 10 seconds duration

I thought Frequency List generation mode could work with my test structure, but it doesn't seem to me to support an arbitrary waveform like the chirps. The next easiest mode seems to be script mode? Using a (very) slightly modified LabVIEW example, Fgen Arb Script.vi (attached), I've been able to write a script that can step through a series of sine waves using the attached waveform definitions and script.

I was hoping to get some opinions on next steps.