cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shown Sensor-Value jumps from 0 to -0

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

i already (falsely) posted this Topic to the Labwindows-Board, which is why I post it here again.

I'm new in LABVIEW and I want to use a Burster 8661 Torque-Sensor, which is connected via USB. I installed the LabWindows-Drivers via the Labview Instrument Driver Import Wizard. I followed the Instructions in the Manual of Burster.

I made a Little Labview-Program, that should read the Serial Number and the Torque. The Serial Number is detected and shown correctly. So I guess, that the Driver is installed correctly ?

The Torque jumps between 0 and -0, depending on the turn-direction of the measurement-shaft, but does not Show the real Torque-Value.

Can anybody help me or had a similar Problem?

Thanks for your help!

Kind regards

Steffen

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,474 Views)

Hi Steffen,

what is the value shown in the torque string indicator?

Please set the formatting of your torque value indicator to "%.4g", then report your values again!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,466 Views)

Hi GerdW,

thank you for your fast answer. The shown Value in string Indicator is the same as in the "normal" string Indicator.

I modified the program, so that there is no while-Loop and the program is less "complex".

I set the formatting of torque indicator to "%.4g", but the indicated torque remains the same 😞

Have you got any other ideas?

Thank you!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,447 Views)

Hi Steffen,

so the "values_as_string" shows the very same "-0" as is shown in "ValueTorque"?

My pure guess: the torque value is rather small (around 0) with some noise added. The Burster functions/driver applies some rounding to the transmitted value which ends up in "±0" (instead of maybe "±1e-6")…