LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should deactivating LV license reset your LabVIEW.ini file?

Solved!
Go to solution

I recently was compiling instructions for someone showing them how to deactivate a LabVIEW license. In the process I deactivated my LV license (so I could take a screen snapshot) and thought it no big deal, since I could just re-activate it afterwards. I later re-activated and when I opened LV all my history of recent projects and recent files were gone. Had I known this would happen, I would have made a copy of the LabVIEW.ini file beforehand. Is this expected behavior? I would have at least expected some sort of warning. I'm currently using NI License Manager 4.6.

^TeraTech.

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Check out this lengthy post of mostly complaints)
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(626 Views)

That's not expected behavior.

 

I'd agree that it's wrong behavior.

 

Are you sure this is what happened? It would be quite easy to mix up versions of LabVIEW, depending on your setup.

 

If it wasn't much work (and non-destructive) I'd test to verify 🙄.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(575 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author TeraTech

Update: the problem was likely caused by a LV repair operation I perform on the same day.

^TeraTech.

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Check out this lengthy post of mostly complaints)
Message 3 of 3
(497 Views)