LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shift Register and waiting time functions - DAQmx

Hi,

I am very very new to LabVIEW and I would be interested to clarify a basic question associated with shift registers and wait time functions.

1) What is the purpose of shift register in a while loop as the user acquires continuously data at a certain frequency (Attached image) ?

2) What is the purpose of the waiting time 1 sec within the while loop ( Assumed that the samples are collected every 1 second) as the user specifies a frequency earlier in the task (sample clock)?

3) What is the purpose of the timeout in the read DAQmx function?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,677 Views)

Instead of a While Loop, suppose you had multiple Read functions one after the other -- they'd all be connected by Error Lines and Task wires.  When you collapse them into a While Loop, you "collapse" the connecting wires with a Shift Regster.  The idea is that one goes out the right-hand Shift Regster appears on the left-hand Shift Register at the beginning of the next loop.  

The purpose of the 1-second Wait would clock the loop at 1 Hz, but (as you note) the function might already be self-clocking, in which case the 1 second Wait may be superfluous.

I'm uncertain why one would have a TimeOut of 1 sec if the loop is supposed to run at 1 sec -- sounds like a Race Condition waiting to happen.  It does make sense to set it to, say, 10 sec -- if no samples come in, something migth be wrong ...

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,654 Views)
With single sample mode, you are ignoring the clock settings unless the hardware supports hardware timed single point acquisition and you specifically program for it. You should show the rest of the program and provide the DAQ device model number.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,645 Views)