LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up a continuous audio io buffer

Solved!
Go to solution

I am fairly new to Labview and am running into 2 problems that I can't solve. If anyone can help, that would be great.

I am trying to create a VI using the sound card that receives an audio input from a sine wave generator (plugged into the mic port), converts that signal into a frequency and uses the frequency to output a sine wave of a slightly higher frequency

I started off using the simultaneous IO example VI and modified it to my needs. (see attached VI) I am using Labview 8.5 on a Pentium 4 3.0Ghz PC.

I keep getting 2 errors, one is that the tone measurement device measures an Inf signal and refers to the Niquist theorem. I have a sampling rate of 44100Hz and 4410 samples but an input of only 100Hz sine wave. I have coupled the sampling rate and samples at a 10:1 ratio. I'm pretty sure this is wrong. Do you have any better suggestions on designing the buffer?

Also, I occasionally receive an error regarding the sound input read.vi "A task must be running to perform this operation"

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(5,795 Views)

On the "Sound Input Configure VI" set the value  number of samples/ch to a value 3-5 times the value used on the "Sound Input Read VI "

On the "Sound Input Configure VI" the number of samples/ch specifies the number of samples per channel in the buffer. This value must be bigger than value used on "Sound Input Read VI " else the buffer will overflow

But I do not think your project will have any success because of a bug introduced in Labview 8.0, that NI refuse to fix. An to be honest this is disrespectful of NI. But they perhaps fear that people will stop to purchase their DAQ units and use inexpensive sound cards. But this is nonsense.